5 Tips for following a coeliac-friendly or gluten free diet:
- Look for foods that are naturally gluten free
Fruit & vegetables, eggs, unprocessed meat, beans, pulses, lentils and rice are gluten free.
- Check the ingredients list for a list of allergens
For pre-packed foods, gluten-containing grains must always be highlighted clearly, usually in bold or italic fonts. You should steer particularly clear of anything containing grains like wheat, rye, barley, oats and spelt.
- Read chalkboards, charts or menus - and ask if you need advice
If you're eating in a café or buying something from a counter, the information you need will still be available nearby or from a member of staff.
- If you eat oats, always choose those labelled as 'gluten free'
Oats themselves don't contain gluten, but they do contain a similar protein called avenin, and oat products are often processed in the same factories as wheat-containing products.
- Head to the Free From aisle to buy your gluten free staples
You’ll find a Free From area in all Morrisons stores, as well as our dedicated online Free From foods category. Everything in there is selected because it suits different special diets like meat free or milk free - with any gluten free products in our range clearly labelled.